15 January, 2024

Building Mumbai's future: Highlights from the 2024 Sustainability Summit

The 2nd Mumbai Sustainability Summit, organised by the Vivekananda Youth Connect Foundation (VYCF), took place on January 15, 2024, at the Y B Chavan Centre in Mumbai. Siddharth Sharma, CEO, Tata Trusts, was the guest of honour, sharing the stage with the Hon Governor of Maharashtra, Shri Ramesh Bais, and other distinguished guests.

The second Mumbai Sustainability Summit

In its second year, the summit was held on the 161st Swami Vivekananda Jayanti, aiming to convene key stakeholders for discussions on the adoption and implementation of sustainable initiatives in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region.

In his inaugural address, Governor Ramesh Bais emphasised the need for collective efforts, stating, "The people, politicians, bureaucrats, and entrepreneurs of Mumbai should all contribute to making Mumbai beautiful."

Siddharth Sharma, CEO, Tata Trusts

Mr Sharma spoke about the challenges faced by Mumbai as a bustling city and underscored the necessity of sustainable development. He highlighted, "Rapid urbanisation and a growing population present challenges that require innovative solutions. Building a sustainable city in Mumbai is not just a necessity but an extraordinary opportunity to shape a future that is economically robust, environmentally conscious, and socially inclusive." He detailed Mumbai's potential as a sustainable urban model by emphasising biodiversity protection, particularly mangroves, prioritising social sustainability with affordable housing and inclusive spaces, and advocating for smart water management to address flood risk.

At the Summit, the Governor presented the Mumbai Sustainability Lifetime Achievement Award to retired government officer Radheshyam Mopalwar. Additionally, the 'Mumbai Sustainability Awards' were presented to Anuradha Pal (Stree Shakti Music Ensemble), Dr Divesh Mishra (Environment), Dr Harish Shetti (Aahar Veda), Amrit Deshmukh (Swayam Moment), Sujata Raikar (Social Sustainability), Lawrence Bing (Hockey), and Chinu Kwatra.